Chief Minister, Punjab

Captain Amarinder Singh, (INC) Chief Minister, Punjab
Captain Amarinder Singh, (INC) Chief Minister, Punjab
Captain Amarinder Singh, (INC) Chief Minister, Punjab


Personal details
Born11 March 1942 (age 77)
Patiala, Punjab, British India
Political partyIndian National Congress(1980–84; 1998–present)
Other political
Shiromani Akali Dal (1984–92) Shiromani Akali Dal (Panthic) (1992–98)
Spouse(s)Preneet Kaur (m. 1964)
Children2, including Raninder Singh
ParentsYadavindra SinghMohinder Kaur
Military service
Allegiance India
Branch/serviceIndian Army
Years of service1963–1965
UnitSikh Regiment

Contact Details

2743463 Residence:

E-mail ID:

Room No.1, 2nd Floor, Punjab Civil Secretariat, Sector – 1, Chandigarh

Former CM List

SL. No.Name of Chief MinistersFromToParty
1Gopi Chand Bhargava15-Aug-4713-Apr-49Indian National Congress
2Bhim Sen Sachar13-Apr-4918-Oct-49Indian National Congress
3Gopi Chand Bhargava18-Oct-4920-Jun-51Indian National Congress
#President’s rule20-Jun-5117-Apr-52
4Bhim Sen Sachar17-Apr-5223-Jan-56Indian National Congress
5Pratap Singh Kairon23-Jan-5621-Jun-64Indian National Congress
6Gopi Chand Bhargava21-Jun-646-Jul-64Indian National Congress
7Ram Kishan7-Jul-645-Jul-66Indian National Congress
#President’s rule5-Jul-661-Nov-66
8Giani Gurmukh Singh Mussafir1-Nov-668-Mar-67Indian National Congress
9Gurnam Singh8-Mar-6725-Nov-67Shiromani Akali Dal
10Lachhman Singh Gill25-Nov-6723-Aug-68Shiromani Akali Dal
#President’s rule23-Aug-6817-Feb-69
11Gurnam Singh17-Feb-6927-Mar-70Shiromani Akali Dal
12Parkash Singh Badal27-Mar-7014-Jun-71Shiromani Akali Dal
#President’s rule14-Jun-7117-Mar-72
13Zail Singh17-Mar-7230-Apr-77Indian National Congress
#President’s rule30-Apr-7720-Jun-77
14Parkash Singh Badal20-Jun-7717-Feb-80Shiromani Akali Dal
#President’s rule17-Feb-806-Jun-80
15Darbara Singh6-Jun-8010-Oct-83Indian National Congress
#President’s rule10-Oct-8329-Sep-85
16Surjit Singh Barnala29-Sep-8511-Jun-87Shiromani Akali Dal
#President’s rule11-Jun-8725-Feb-92
17Beant Singh25-Feb-9231-Aug-95Indian National Congress
18Harcharan Singh Brar31-Aug-9521-Jan-96Indian National Congress
19Rajinder Kaur Bhattal21-Jan-9611-Feb-97Indian National Congress
20Parkash Singh Badal12-Feb-9726-Feb-02Shiromani Akali Dal
21Amarinder Singh26-Feb-021-Mar-07Indian National Congress
22Parkash Singh Badal1-Mar-0711-Mar-17Shiromani Akali Dal
23Captain Amarinder Singh16-Mar-17PresentIndian National Congress