Governor, Jharkhand

Smt. Draupadi Murmu, Governor, Jharkhand


The present Governor of Jharkhand , Smt Droupadi Murmu, is the first woman to hold this office. She took the charge of Governor on May 18, 2015. She has had an impressive political and social career spanning almost two decades. Prior to that ,she had a fulfilling service career. Daughter of Late Biranchi Narayan Tudu,Smt Murmu was married to Late Shyam Charan Murmu. She has one daughter.

A two – time member of the Legislative Assembly , Murmu is a former minister from Odisha.

Smt Murmu’s political career started in 1997, When she was elected as a councilor and later became the vice chairperson of Rairangpur NAC. In the same year , she became the vice president of a national political party’s Odisha ST Morcha, and later, its president. In 2013, she became the national executive member of the party’s ST Morcha.

In between , in 2007, she was awarded “Nilakantha Award” for the best MLA of the year’s by the Legislative Assembly of Odisha.

During her expansive political career, Smt Murmu had also been a pro active pursuer of social causes and played a pivotal role in community uplift in Odisha.

FatherLate Biranchi Narayan Tudu
SpouseLate Shyam Charan Murmu
ChildrenOne Daughter
Date of Birth20.06.1958
Permanent AddressBaidaposi,Word No.02, 
P.O.- Rairangpur,
Distt: Mayurbhanj,


2013National Executive Member S.T. Morcha, B.J.P. till April,10th, 2015.
2013Again Elected as District President , Mayurbhanj ( East ), B.J.P. till April, 10th2015.
2010District President , Mayurbhanj ( East ), B.J.P.
2007Awarded as “Nilakantha Award” for The Best MLA of the year 2007 by Legislative Assembly of Odisha.
2006-2009State President S.T . Morcha , B.J.P.
2004-2009Member of Legislative Assembly , Rairangpur ,Odisha.
2002-2009National Executive Member S.T. Morcha , B.J.P
2000-2004– Member of Legislative Assembly, Rairangpur ,Odisha and became   Minister of State (Independent Charge ), Govt.of Odisha. 

– Department of Transport and Commerce, Govt.of (2000- 2002) 

– Department of Fisheries and Animal Husbandry Govt.of Odisha   (2002-2004)
1997Vice-President State S.T .Morcha , BJP
1997Won As Councilor And Became Vice- Chairperson Rairangpur NAC.


Served as Jr. Asst. in Irrigation and Power Dept., Govt.of Odisha.
Served as Honorary .Asst.Teacher in Shri Aravindo Integral Education and Research, Rairangpur ,Odisha.

Former Governor List

1Prabhat Kumar15-Nov-20003-Feb-02
2V.C Pande (Additional Charge)4-Feb-0214-Jul-02
3M. Rama Jois15-Jul-0211-Jun-03
4Ved Marwah12-Jun-039-Dec-04
5Syed Sibtey Razi10-Dec-0425-Jul-09
6Kateekal Sankaranarayanan26-Jul-0921-Jan-10
7M.O. Hasan Farook Maricar22-Jan-103-Sep-11
8Syed Ahmed4-Sep-1117-May-15
9Draupadi Murmu18-May-15incumbent