Governor, Assam

Prof. Jagdish Mukhi, Governor, Assam
Prof. Jagdish Mukhi, Governor, Assam
Prof. Jagdish Mukhi, Governor, Assam


Prof Jagdish Mukhi is the 30th Governor of Assam and he assumed his office on 10th October 2017.

Prior to his appointment as the Governor of Assam, Shri Mukhi was the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Jagdish Mukhi earlier held the portfolios of finance, planning, excise & taxation and higher education in Delhi Government. He is credited with working extensively for the welfare of the people of Delhi.

Some of the notable achievements credited to Jagdish Mukhi’s name were banning of lottery trade etc in Delhi in 1994, when he was the minister of finance. He also worked towards persuading people to abstain from consuming alcohol. As minister of excise, he declared record number of dry days in a year. He was also instrumental in establishing Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University a professional university which was self funded, as a minister of higher education. He was also honoured as the best finance minister of the nation and also received best MLA award in Delhi Vidhan Sabha for two times.

He represented Janak Puri constituency continuously from 1980 and won seven times from the same constituency. Jagdish Mukhi was born to Late J.R Mukhi and Late Laxi Devi Mukhi on 1st December 1942.

Contact Details

0361 254 0500

E-mail ID:

MG Road, Kharghuli Hills, Guwahati, Assam 781001

Former Governor List

1Sir Muhammad Saleh Akbar Hydari15-Aug-4728-Dec-48
Ronald Francis Lodge (Acting)30-Dec-4816-Feb-49
2Sri Prakasa16-Feb-4927-May-50
3Jairamdas Daulatram27-May-5015-May-56
4Saiyid Fazal Ali15-May-5622-Aug-59
5Chandreswar Prasad Sinha23-Aug-5914-Oct-59
6General (Retired) Satyavant Mallannah Shrinagesh14-Oct-5912-Nov-60
7Vishnu Sahay12-Nov-6013-Jan-61
-6General (Retired) Satyavant Mallannah Shrinagesh13-Jan-617-Sep-62
-7Vishnu Sahay7-Sep-6217-Apr-68
8Braj Kumar Nehru17-Apr-6819-Sep-73
9Lallan Prasad Singh19-Sep-7310-Aug-81
10Prakash Mehrotra10-Aug-8128-Mar-84
11Justice Tribeni Sahai Misra28-Mar-8415-Apr-84
12Bhishma Narain Singh15-Apr-8410-May-89
13Harideo Joshi10-May-8921-Jul-89
14Justice Anisetti Raghuvir21-Jul-892-May-90
15Justice Devi Das Thakur2-May-9017-Mar-91
16Loknath Mishra17-Mar-911-Sep-97
17Lt. General (Retired) Srinivas Kumar Sinha1-Sep-9721-Apr-03
18Arvind Dave21-Apr-035-Jun-03
19Lt. General (Retired) Ajai Singh5-Jun-034-Jul-08
20Shiv Charan Mathur4-Jul-0825-Jun-09
21K Sankaranarayanan26-Jun-0927-Jul-09
22Syed Sibtey Razi27-Jul-0910-Nov-09
23Janaki Ballabh Patnaik11-Nov-0911-Dec-14
24Padmanabha Balakrishna AcharyaDec-1417-Aug-16
25Banwarilal Purohit22-Aug-1610-Oct-17
26Jagdish Mukhi10-Oct-17Incumbent