Governor, Rajasthan

Shri Kalyan Singh, Governor, Rajasthan
Shri Kalyan Singh, Governor, Rajasthan
Shri Kalyan Singh, Governor, Rajasthan


Shri Kalyan Singh was born in a farmer’s family on 5th January, 1932 at village Madholi in District Aligarh.  He joined as a RSS worker at an early age in his life.  He was elected Member of Legislative Assembly for six times continuously and was also Member of Parliament.  He served as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for two times. He took oath as the Governor of Rajasthan on 4th Sep 2014.

NameShri Kalyan Singh
Date of Birth05th January, 1932
Place of BirthVillage -Madholi, Tehsil – Atrauli,Dist. – Aligarh (Uttar Pradesh).
Official ResidenceRaj Bhawan, Civil Lines, Jaipur- 302006 Rajasthan
Family BackgroundBorn in a Farmer Family
Father’s NameLate Shri Tejpal Singh
Mother’s NameLate Shrimati Sita
Spouse NameShrimati Ramvati Devi
Name of SonShri Rajvir Singh, Member of Parliament
Name of DaughterShrimati Prabha Verma
Grand sonTwo
Grand daughterTwo
EducationB.A., L.T. ,Worked as a Teacher for three years.

Executive & Legislative Positions

  • Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for two times.
  • Six times continuous MLA in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly from 1967. 
  • Health Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 1977.
  • Member of Parliament from 2004 to 2014.

Political Assignments

  • Two times State President of Uttar Pradesh B.J.P.
  • Two times National Vice President of B.J.P.


  • RSS worker from the early age in life.
  • Twenty one months in Aligarh and Banaras Jails during emergency in 1975-76.

At Present

  • Assumed the office of the Governor of Rajasthan on 04th September, 2014.
  • Chairperson of Rajya Sainik Board, Rajasthan.
  • Chairperson of Management Committee of Amalgamated Fund for the Benefit of Ex- Servicemen of Rajasthan.
  • Chairperson of West Zone Culture Centre, Udaipur.
  • Patron, Scouts & Guides, Rajasthan.
  • President, Indian Red Cross Society, Rajasthan State Branch.

Chancellor of following Universities

  • University of Rajasthan, Jaipur.
  • Jai Narain Vyas University Jodhpur.
  • Mohan Lal Sukhadia University, Udaipur.
  • Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University, Ajmer.
  • University of Kota, Kota.
  • Maharaja Ganga Singh University, Bikaner.
  • Jagadguru Ramandacharya Rajasthan Sanskrit University, Jaipur.
  • Vardhman Mahaveer Open University, Kota.
  • Dr.Sarvapalli Radhakrishnn Rajasthan Ayurved University, Jodhpur.
  • Rajasthan Technical University, Kota.
  • Rajasthan University of Health Sciences, Jaipur.
  • Swami Keshvanand Rajasthan Agriculture University, Bikaner.
  • Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture & Technology,Udaipur.
  • Rajasthan University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Bikaner.
  • Sardar Patel University of Police, Security and Criminal Justice,Jodhpur.
  • Govind Guru Tribal University, Banswara.
  • Pt. Deendayal Upadhyay Shekhawati University, Sikar.
  • Maharaja Surajmal Brij University, Bharatpur.
  • Rajrishi Bharathari Matsya University, Alwar.
  • Rajasthan Sports University, Jhunjhunu.
  • SKN Agriculture University, Jobner.
  • Agriculture University, Kota.
  • Agriculture University, Jodhpur.

Former Governor List

1Maharaj Man Singh II(Rajpramukh)30-Mar-4931-Oct-56
2Gurumukh Nihal Singh1-Nov-5616-Apr-62
4Sardar Hukam Singh16-Apr-671-Jul-72
5Sardar Jogendra Singh1-Jul-7215-Feb-77
Vedpal Tyagi (acting)15-Feb-7711-May-77
6Raghukul Tilak17-May-778-Aug-81
K. D. Sharma (acting)8-Aug-816-Mar-82
7Om Prakash Mehra6-Mar-824-Jan-85
8Vasantdada Patil20-Nov-8515-Oct-87
9Sukhdev Prasad20-Feb-883-Feb-90
Milap Chand Jain (acting)3-Feb-9014-Feb-90
10Debi Prasad Chattopadhyaya14-Feb-9026-Aug-91
Sarup Singh (acting)26-Aug-915-Feb-92
11Marri Chenna Reddy5-Feb-9231-May-93
Dhanik Lal Mandal (additional charge)31-May-9330-Jun-93
12Bali Ram Bhagat30-Jun-931-May-98
13Darbara Singh1-May-9824-May-98
Navrang Lal Tibrewal (acting)25-May-9816-Jan-99
14Anshuman Singh16-Jan-9914-May-03
15Nirmal Chandra Jain14-May-0322-Sep-03
Kailashpati Mishra (additional charge)22-Sep-0314-Jan-04
16Madan Lal Khurana14-Jan-041-Nov-04
T. V. Rajeswar (additional charge)1-Nov-048-Nov-04
17Pratibha Patil8-Nov-0421-Jun-07
Akhlaqur Rahman Kidwai (additional charge)21-Jun-076-Sep-07
18S. K. Singh6-Sep-071-Dec-09
Prabha Rau (additional charge)2-Dec-0924-Jan-10
19Prabha Rau25-Jan-1026-Apr-10
Shivraj Patil (additional charge)26-Apr-1012-May-12
20Margaret Alva12-May-127-Aug-14
Ram Naik (additional charge)8-Aug-143-Sep-14
21Kalyan Singh4-Sep-14Incumbent