Election MS

Lieutenant Governor, Puducherry (Pondicherry)

Dr. Kiran Bedi, Lieutenant Governor, Puducherry (Pondicherry)
Dr. Kiran Bedi, Lieutenant Governor, Puducherry (Pondicherry)


Dr Kiran Bedi is the first woman in India to have joined the officer ranks of Indian Police Service. She served in it for 35 years and moved up to the highest rank, as Director General, Bureau of Police Research and Development (BPR&D), Government of India.

Dr Bedi served as Police Advisor to the Secretary General in United Nations, in the Department of Peace Keeping Operations in New York.

She is recipient of The Ramon Magsaysay Award, also called Asia’s Nobel Peace Award for bringing about a positive relationship between Police and the People.

Dr Bedi is a Law graduate, Masters, and a PhD Scholar from IIT Delhi, with post doctoral Nehru Fellowship. She is an author of several books such as “I Dare”, “It’s Always Possible”, “Creating Leadership and more…”

Dr Bedi has been voted as the most admired and trusted woman in India by Readers Digest, The Week Magazine, and others over the years. She has a biopic on her life called, Yes Madam Sir, made by an Australian film maker.

She is running two NGOs, NAVJYOTI and India Vision Foundation which reach out to marginalised sections of society in education, skills development, in urban and rural areas, including prisons.

She is an academic and is a visiting faculty with Iclif, a Leadership Training Institute in Malaysia. As of now she has around 10 million followers on social networks. Her Twitter handle is @thekiranbedi

Assumed the Office of the Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry on 29th May, 2016.

Contact Details

Office : +91-413-2334051
Residence : +91-413-2334050
Fax : +91-413-2334025

E-mail : lg.pon@nic.in

Former Lieutenant Governor List

2B.D. Jatti14.10.196807.11.1972
4B.T. Kulkarni30.08.197631.10.1980
5Ram Kishore Vyas01.11.198026.07.1981
6R.N. Haldipur27.07.198114.05.1982
7K.M. Chandy15.05.198205.08.1983
8Kona Prabhakara Rao02.09.198317.06.1984
9Tribhuvan Prasad Tewary01.10.198421.06.1988
10Ranjit Singh Dyal22.06.198819.02.1990
12Har Swarup Singh19.12.199005.02.1993
13Rajendra Kumari Bajpai02.05.199522.04.1998
14Rajani Rai23.04.199829.07.2002
15K. R. Malkani31.07.200227.10.2003
16Nagendra Nath Jha05.01.200406.07.2004
17M. M. Lakhera07.07.200418.07.2006
18Mukut Mithi19.07.200612.03.2008
19Bhopinder Singh15.03.200822.07.2008
20Govind Singh Gurjar23.07.200806.04.2009
21Surjit Singh Barnala09.04.200927.07.2009
22Iqbal Singh27.07.200909.07.2013
23Virendra Kataria10.07.201311.07.2014
23A. K. Singh12.07.201426.05.2016
24Kiran Bedi29.05.2016Incumbent
Exit mobile version